How much money was really SAVED?

There has been so much propaganda in the MN State Court System about how it needs to save money.  All government entities (and all private entities – don’t forget) have had to tighten their belt.  As always, the issue for the Public is what are the government decision-makers choosing to pay for, and not.

Lorie Gildea is a big proponent of “efficiency.”  But what does that really mean?

I was shocked to learn about the “digitization” projects in the MN State Courts.  From what I have seen (and I have not yet received even one single public document that I have requested), I do not believe this was handled well.  I’ll discuss this “project” in more depth.

But one bit of news can’t wait.

Last night when I was searching the MN Judicial Branch website (not an easy task; the search function is archaic, and the data is inconsistent), I located this First Judicial District newsletter.  Portions of it are reprinted below.

What you will notice is that MILLIONS of dollars have been added to the Court 2014-15 “budget” for salaries for tech people.

So how much money was really saved?

Could it be that the “administrator” justice has destroyed the integrity of 100 years of court records, all in the name of “efficiency,” but no money was really saved?

image

image

imageimage