Minnesota Courts have a policy or custom of violating court orders: Part 1

I had a really shocking realization at Ramsey County Court yesterday.  This was supposedly the place where the Public can come look at civil files.

Right.

I had the luxury of getting hostile tones, angry stares.  But that wasn’t what I had come for.  (At least, that was not my idea of “service.”)

I was told that all of the original court filings had been destroyed (“shredded” was the word she used), and a computer-only system installed.  I challenge whoever/whatever made this decision.  No officials in the court system have authority to destroy the Public’s documents.

And this is a big issue.  It seems the court clerks view them as their documents.  They are not.  And the lack of training of these people is palpable.  Those documents belong to the People of the State of Minnesota.  The People did not give authority to shred 100 years of court records.

When I said, just confirming, that then they would not be able to authenticate any of the orders in my case, the clerk said something about, if it’s on the scan, then it’s the order.

Huh.

I guess I missed Denial 101.

It seems fifth graders surfing the web have more knowledge of computer hacking than the clerks in the state court system, or the DECISION MAKERS in the state court system.

People.

We have a problem.

This is a good example of why judges should stick to judging.

Stay tuned for Part 2.