How Public is the Law: Part 14

 

I am having difficulty locating and accessing the “public” law of the Minnesota appellate courts.

For one thing, I appear to be missing some orders that I had served into the firm’s computer.  For another thing, when I went to the Minnesota Judicial Branch website, Court of Appeals section, to grab another copy of an order in an appeal, I realized that orders are not public there.  Only “opinions.”

This disturbs me for a couple of reasons.  The law should be public.  And, if it is not public, the argument could be made it is not the law.

Second, the Court of Appeals issued an “order opinion” regarding State v. Trisha Farkarlun.  I had never seen a document entitled like that before.   Does an “order opinion” get published online, or if that tucked in some file somewhere?